Aam Aadmi Party looks all set to retain power in Delhi for third term

Delhi Election result 2020
Aam Aadmi Party looks all set to retain power in Delhi for the third term. The Party has won 28 seats and is leading in 35 seats in the 70-member Assembly elections. BJP has bagged 2 seat and is ahead in 5 constituencies . The contest is between AAP and the BJP with Congress nowhere in the reckoning. Among the AAP leaders who won the elections so far include Raghav Chadha from Rajinder Nagar, Rakhi Birla from Mangolpuri, and Ajay Dutt from Ambedkar Nagar.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is leading in New Delhi constituency, while his deputy Manish Sisodia is leading in Patparganj.

Among Sitting BJP MLAs, Om Prakash Sharma has retained Vishwas Nagar seat while Vijender Gupta is leading in Rohini.

Celebrations broke out at AAP headquarters as trends showed that the party heading towards a comfortable majority. AAP office was decorated with blue and white balloons and big cut-outs of party Convenor Arvind Kejriwal.

Counting of votes is progressing smoothly amid tight security at 21 centres. The counting began at 8 this morning with postal ballots. The votes cast through electronic voting machines (EVMs) were taken up after that. Each EVM consists of a ballot unit, a control unit and a voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT). After counting of votes through control units from every assembly constituency, five VVPATs will be randomly selected and they will be counted. 62.59 per cent voter turnout was recorded this year, five per cent less than 2015 assembly polls.

The counting centres are located across 11 districts, including at CWG Sports Complex in east Delhi, NSIT Dwarka in west Delhi, Meerabai Institute of Technology and GB Pant Institute of Technology in southeast Delhi, Sir CV Raman ITI, Dheerpur in central Delhi, and Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Bawana in north Delhi.

BJP President JP Nadda has said, party respects the mandate given by the people of Delhi. In a series of tweets today, Mr Nadda said, BJP will play the role of constructive opposition and will prominently raise every issue related to the development. He congratulated Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and AAP and also thanked all BJP party workers who worked tirelessly for Delhi polls.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal today thanked people of Delhi for voting for Aam Aadmi Party. He said people of Delhi have voted for development, for Mohalla clinics, education, and 24/7 electricity. He said, people of Delhi have given birth to a new form of politics and sent the message that they will vote for people who construct schools, hospitals and work for development.
Delhi Election result 2020